Red Devils News · Winter and Spring Sports Award Winners

The CHS Booster Club hosted the 2019 Winter & Spring Awards on Tuesday, May 21, in the CHS gymnasium.  The following teams, student-athletes, and coaches were honored:

Girls’ Track

State Championship Shot Put- Keria Dendy

Field MVP- Keria Dendy

Track MVP- Quiana Suber

Most Improved- Devionna Walker

All Region:  

Aaliyah Johnston– 4X100, 200m, 4X400

Maya Smith– 4X100, 100m

Quiana Suber– 4X100, 400 m

Patience Adams– 4X100, 4X400

Devionna Walker– 4X400

Deasia Boyd– 4X400

Record Breaker- Paige Trent 1600m- 5:45.80

Region III 3A Girls Track Coach of the Year- Paige Drisgula

Boys Track

Field MVP- PJ Bluford

Track MVP- Titus Hood

Most Improved- Kevin Caldwell

Region Field Athlete of the Year- PJ Bluford

Varsity Golf

MVP- Phoebe Carles

Sportsmanship- Justin Snead

All Region- Sofia Carles

All State- Phoebe Carles

All County- Phoebe Carles, Sofia Carles

1st Ever Team State Championship Appearance- 11th Place Finish in 3A

Boys’ Tennis

9th Consecutive Region Championship as a Team

3rd Consecutive Year in State Championship

All Region- Ike Waldron, Connor Donley, Anders Orr

All State- Ike Waldron

Region III 3A Player of the Year- Ike Waldron

Tennis Singles Invitational Participant- Ike Waldron

MVP- Ike Waldron

Sportsmanship- Brandon Campbell

KDA (Kevin Donald Adams Award)- Anders Orr

Region III 3A Tennis Coach of the Year- Clovis Simmons

NFHS State Tennis Coach of the Year- Clovis Simmons

Athletic Training

Student Athletic Trainer of the Year- Allisah Williamson

JV Cheerleaders

MVP- Haley Wood

Varsity Cheerleaders

MVP- Tytajha Robinson

Caroline Sease Award- Calleigh Jacks

JV Girls’ Basketball

Hustle Award- Grayson Taylor

Varsity Girls’ Basketball

MVP- De’Shanti Watts

Most Improved- Dana Kinard

Sportsmanship- Latoria Johnson

All County- De’Shanti Watts, Terriauna Bennett

All Region- De’Shanti Watts, Terriauna Bennett

JV Boys’ Basketball

Hustle Award- Kaleb Richardson

Varsity Boys’ Basketball

MVP- JD Payne

Sportsmanship- Titus Hood

Most Improved- Ahmari Bates

All County- JD Payne, Ahmari Bates, PJ Bluford

All County Player of the Year- JD Payne

All Region- JD Payne, Ahmari Bates

All State- JD Payne

CHS Athletic Booster ClubWilliam “Terry” Bootle–   Award for Service

JV Girls’ Soccer

Hustle Award- MC Dailey

Varsity Girls’ Soccer

MVP for Attacking- Madison Bagwell

MVP for Defense- Ella Cooper

Sportsmanship- Ceci Perez

All County- Reese Gowan, Ella Cooper, Madison Bagwell, Kailey Suber, Reece Lawson, Ava Machione, Abby Collins

All Region- Madison Bagwell, Abby Collins, Reese Lawson

JV Boys’ Soccer

Hustle Award- Shane Nelson

Varsity Boys’ Soccer

Offensive MVP- Parker Duncan

Defensive MVP- Hamp Barnes

Sportsmanship- Cameron Nichols

All County- JP Snelgrove, Parker Duncan, Juan Lawson, Gavin Kiley, Sam Tiller, Riley Freeman, Hamp Barnes

All Region- Parker Duncan, Juan Lawson

Varsity Softball

All County- Hunter Benson, Kam Akins, Maddi Wood, Madison Burton

All Region- Kam Akins, Maddi Wood, Hunter Benson, Grayson Taylor

North/South Participant- Hunter Benson

Sportsmanship- Beth Wiggins

MVP- Hunter Benson

All State- Hunter Benson

All County Coach of the Year- Ryan Caughman
JV Softball

Hustle Awards- Ella Adair, Kate Wages

C-Team Baseball

Hustle Award- Zach Fortman

JV Baseball

Hustle Award- Jack Carroll

Varsity Baseball

MVP- Konnor Richardson

Cal Gault- Qua Quarles and Glavin Alexander

Sportsmanship- Blake Smith

All Region- Griffin Fuller and Konnor Richardson

Betty and Louie Webb Booster Club Scholarship Winners

Brooks Seawright

Adaline Stephens

Female Athlete of the Year- Savanna Campbell

Male Athlete of the Year- Konnor Richardson